Transition Handbook: Chapter 2 : Energy Descent

View from the top As we saw during the reading of chapter 1, peak oil and climate change cannot be seen separately. Since the beginning of our trip we talk about our approach and these imminent issues, it is interesting to see how many people feel concerned, but actions do not necessarily follow. There are many reasons for this, but one of them is that people do not think it can happen imminently. «It’s for …

Think to our time in a day

During my participation at the convergence of Permaculture in 2014 in Freylisburgh village in Estrie, I had listened an interesting strong conference on the genesis of earthships presented by the founder of Solution Era. In his introduction, he presented us a distribution of time in a day to invite us to think about the use of our time. This short presentation inspired me and gave me an other approach of our time when I shall …

Transition handbook: chapter 1; peak oil and global warming (part 2/2)

Read the first part Climate change At the time of writing the book, the subject was not yet so present in the media and still many leaders could deny it. Talking about global warming or climate change is the same thing, although we talk more about the global warming in different studies, talk about change will be a more generic term that can explain cold waves, current changes, absences or abundance of rain, etc. When …

Transition handbook: chapter 1; peak oil and global warming (part 1/2)

In order to understand the transition movement, we will begin by summarizing the various chapters of the transition manual written by Rob Hopkins in 2008. In order to understand the reasons for the transition, the first chapter will speak about the coming peak oil (at the time) and global warming. As we will see, primarily the transition movement is an ecological movement trying to find local solutions. There are, however, two peculiarities which denote it …

Understanding the transition movement

Once upon a time, in a town of Ireland, a professor of permaculture and his students watched The End of Suburbia, a documentary about the imminent peak oil. We were then in 2005, it was announced to be in a few years, 2008 for the most pessimistic, around 2012 for the others, but one thing is certain it would happen. The teacher and his students then had the idea to find alternatives that they knew …

Port Townsend, a solid food network

We could never have imagined such local development when we arrived on the last weekend of October in Port Townsend. Unknown to us a few hours before crossing the border, we are friendly welcomed by Sonya, involved in the local group 20/20 and we are invited to participate in two days of meetings and conferences around Economics of happiness. Wonderful timing, but what is the economy of happiness? Large subject that took over throughout the …

Impossible without you!! Thank you so much!!

Horizon Transition grows and flourishes thanks to you !! An extended and wide THANK YOU for your support! Horizon, our project mascot, is constantly looking for experiences, alternative projects, to introduce you. There are many friends on his way right now and he is happy to count you in his close associates. None of this could have continued without your support, and we are proud to be able to continue with the upcoming production of …

What is an ephemeris? A counterpart, a project in the project

You could see in the counterparties we offer, there is the traditional thank you, a magnet badge, a personalized postcard, a less traditional bag in coffee pocket, a horizon mascot and an original calendar. But there is a counterpart that seems strange, around us many asked us, what was an ephemeris. When we thought about the rewards, we wanted to have things that fit into the project. We thought about t-shirts or other goodies that …

Learn more about our needs at 30% of success :)

First of all thank you, thank you to all the people who participated to make our project possible, whether it is by a support or a donation, we thank you and we will be grateful! Horizon Transition is a project that we have been carrying in our minds for a few months and a few weeks in our body! Since now 4 days in Berkeley, place of our first integration in a group, we have …

Our visit with the Cowichan Valley transition group, Vancouver Island, Canada

Saturday 13 of October, we meet Sandy and Jane, two engage women who are involved in the Cowichan Valley Transition Group. Sitting at the table of a small local café, next to the farmer’s market which takes place every Saturday morning, we explore through various questions the development of this transition group. Presentation of Sandy and Jane No weather condition scares Sandy, at 67, to travel year-round by bike in the Cowichan Valley. Even when …

Manuel de transition: chapitre 2 “La descente énergétique”

La vue du sommet Comme on a pu le voir lors de la lecture du chapitre 1, le pic pétrolier et le changement climatique ne peuvent pas être vu séparément. Depuis le début de notre voyage nous parlons de notre démarche et de ces problématiques imminentes, il est intéressant de voir combien de personnes se sentent concernés, mais que les actions ne suivent pas forcément. Il y a plusieurs raisons à cela, mais une de …

Pensons à notre temps dans une journée…

Lors de ma participation à la convergence de la Permaculture en 2014 dans le village de Freylisburgh en Estrie, j’avais écouté une conférence forte intéressante sur la genèse des earthships présentée par le fondateur de Solution Era. Dans son introduction, il nous a présenté une répartition du temps dans une journée pour nous inviter à réfléchir à l’utilisation de notre temps. Cette présentation rapide m’a inspiré et m’a donné une autre approche de notre temps …

Manuel de transition: chapitre 1, pic pétrolier et changement climatique (partie 2/2)

lire la première partie Le changement climatique À l’époque de l’écriture du livre, le sujet n’était pas encore si présent dans les médias et encore beaucoup de dirigeants pouvaient le nier. Parler de réchauffement ou de changement climatique est la même chose, bien que l’on parle plus du réchauffement dans les différents rapports, parler de changement sera un terme plus générique qui pourra expliquer les vagues de froids, les changements de courant, les absences ou …

Manuel de transition: chapitre 1, pic pétrolier et changement climatique (partie 1/2)

Afin de comprendre le mouvement de transition, nous débuterons par faire un résumé des différents chapitre du manuel de transition écrit par Rob Hopkins en 2008. Afin de comprendre les raisons de la transition, le premier chapitre traitera du pic pétrolier éminent (à l’époque) et du réchauffement climatique. On le verra, le mouvement des initiatives de transition est avant tout un mouvement écologique essayant de trouver des solutions à échelle locale. Il y a cependant …

Comprendre le mouvement de transition

Il était une fois,, dans une ville d’Irlande, un professeur de permaculture et ses élèves qui visionnèrent The End of Suburbia, un documentaire traitant du pic pétrolier imminent. Nous étions alors en 2005, celui-ci s’annonçait d’ici quelques années, 2008 pour les plus pessimistes, autour de 2012 pour les autres, mais une chose est sûre il arriverait. Le professeur et ses élèves eurent alors l’idée de trouver des alternatives qu’ils connaissaient autour d’eux qui permettraient d’aller …

Port Townsend, un réseau local alimentaire bien tissé

Jamais nous n’aurions pu imaginer un tel développement local lorsque nous sommes arrivés la dernière fin de semaine d’octobre à Port Townsend. Méconnu par nous quelques heures avant de traverser la frontière, nous sommes chaleureusement accueillis par Sonya, impliquée dans le groupe local 20/20 et nous sommes invités à participer aux deux journées de rencontres et de conférences autour de l’Économie du bonheur. Merveilleux timing, et sujet qui tombe bien à pic, mais qu’est ce …

Impossible sans vous!! Merci de tout notre coeur!!

Horizon Transition grandit et s’épanouit grâce à vous!! Un étendu et large MERCI pour votre soutien! Horizon, notre mascotte du projet, est à la recherche constante d’expériences, de projets alternatifs, à vous présenter. Il se fait en ce moment beaucoup d’amis sur son passage et il à le plaisir de vous compter dans ses acolytes proches. Rien de cela n’aurait pu continuer sans votre soutien et nous sommes fiers de pouvoir poursuivre par la réalisation …

Qu’est-ce qu’une éphéméride ? Une contrepartie, un projet dans le projet

Vous avez pu le voir dans les contreparties que nous offrons, il y a le traditionnel merci, un badge magnet, une carte postale personnalisée, un moins traditionnel sac en poche de jutes, une mascotte horizon et un calendrier original. Mais il y a une contrepartie qui semble étrange, autour de nous beaucoup nous ont demandée, ce qu’était une éphéméride. Lorsque nous avons réfléchi les contreparties, nous voulions avoir des choses qui s’intègrent dans le projet. …

En savoir plus sur nos besoins à 30 % de la réussite :)

Tout d’abord merci, merci à toutes les personnes qui ont participées afin de faire possible notre projet, que ce soit par un soutien ou par un don, nous vous remercions et nous en serons reconnaissant ! Horizon Transition est un projet que nous portons maintenant dans notre tête depuis quelques mois et depuis quelques semaines dans notre corps ! Depuis maintenant 4 jours à Berkeley, lieu officiel de notre première exploration dans un groupe, nous avons descendu …

A la rencontre du groupe de transition Cowichan, île de de Vancouver, Canada

Le samedi 13 octobre dernier, nous rencontrons Sandy et Jane, deux femmes passionnées qui sont engagées dans le groupe de transition Cowichan. Assis à la table d’un petit café local, à côté du farmer’s market qui a lieu tous les samedis matin, nous explorons à travers diverses questions le développement de ce groupe de transition. Présentation de Sandy et Jane Aucune condition climatique n’effraie Sandy, à 67 ans, de se déplacer à l’année longue en …