A trivial act at the Wall Nut National Monument

The Walnut National Monument is located in the state of Arizona, in the middle of the desert, near the town of Flasgstaff. Archaeologists estimate about 300 dwellings, the peoples would have settled after a volcanic eruption around 1100 untill 1250. The time period inhabited is relatively short, we imagine that this place was seen as a transition site in order to move towards land easier to farm. A 1.6-kilometer course that sinks 90 meters from …

nomad or sedentary, a little thought about travelling

We start with a first kilometer and then we never stop, we learn to like changes, a life without obligation, a life to live it. The human being has evolved by becoming sedentary, but the present society encloses it in this way of life. In order to modernize them, nomadic cultures have been forced to settle down, this way of life is not desired, look how Roms’ people are treated in Europe. Possessions, accumulation, conformity …

Transition Handbook, chapter 5-6; psychology of changement

Chapter 5 How does peak oil and climatic chaos affect us? Post-petroleum stress syndrome A small chapter to evoke common reactions that people may have when they become aware of peak oil. Here is the list he evokes: Irrational faith in unrealistic solutions, fears, impulses of nihilism or survival, denial, foolish optimism and finally accusing finger. Most of the ideas mentioned could recall the different scenarios of the future of the after peak oil seen …

Transition Handbook chapter 4: Why we need do it small

In this final chapter of what makes up the head of the introduction manual, Rob Hopkins tries to explain why in the fight against global warming it is important to resize the scale at which we operate. Relocate to become a more local society to be less dependent on fossil fuels. Although China is singled out for the pollution it emits, in 2008, half of its emissions were destined for the manufacture of goods that …

Complete street program; sharing the road

The first time we heard about it was in Ottawa, our host told us the city had just finished the first complete street. A street that was suitable for all users; pedestrian, bike, bus, car. It is during our visit to Pasadena, in the suburbs of Los Angeles that we have the chance to learn more by attending a meeting of Pasadena Complete Street Coalition. Urban sprawl The disadvantage of American cities, unlike European cities, …

Localwashing the new marketing tool

Do you know the term “Greenwashing”? This is what is known as marketing who tries to sell you a green car or any other product with an environmental value, but which in fact does not have any. Ecology is now trendy and advertisers have understood, so brands green themselve to be more attractive. It is the mission of marketing, find what sells the products we consume. While our travel we see a lot of different …

Transition and technology : the low-tech (3/3)

When I was working for a web company, during a lunch discussion a colleague had argued that “Since there is internet we are smarter because there is no need to know everything anymore, if you want to know something just look on Google.” What he meant was it is not necessary to have the knowledge, you just have to know how to search. I’ve been a philosophy student, I could not help telling me that …

Quelab a makerspace in Alquerque, New-Mexico

If you know the story of the Snail, our traveling home, you know it started in a makerspace in Quebec, La Patente. Doing our journey, we remained attached to this place and began to visit similar places on our route. The project recently brought us to Albuquerque, New Mexico, to meet with the local transition group. Following the successful crowfunding, one of the counterparts we had was a burlap bag. We were able to find …

Transition and technology (2/3): solution by Free software and community ?

The first article was trying to show the hidden part of our internet use, even if we do not see it, the environmental impact can be important. Although the societal imaginary tells us the opposite, it is in our way of using and approaching the Internet that our environmental impact is greater than it could be, because there is solutions that can bring our web use greener. Another point that I would like to put …

Visit of an Eartship, the autonomous hoome

We were in Albuquerque to visit the local transition group, we also wanted to visit the capital of New Mexico at the same time, Santa Fe. The group then told us: “If you continue a little further north you will be able to go to Taos, see the ecological constructions. “, “Good idea.” We took information and realized that buildings in question were the famous Eartships. When one is interested in ecology, waste and self-sufficiency; …

Un acte anodin au Wall Nut Canyon National Monument

Le Walnut National Monument se trouve dans l’état d’Arizona, en plein milieu du désert, proche de la ville de Flasgstaff. Les archéologues estiment à environ 300 habitations, les peuples d’alors s’y serait installé après une éruption volcanique autour de 1 100 jusqu’à environ 1 250. Le laps de temps habités n’est relativement pas long, on imagine que ce lieu était vu comme un emplacement de transition afin de se diriger vers des terres agricoles plus facile à …

Nomade ou sédentaire, petite réflexion sur le voyage

On commence par un premier kilomètre puis on finit par ne jamais s’arrêter, on prend goût aux changements, à une vie sans obligation si ce n’est de la vivre. L’être humain a évolué en se sédentarisant, mais la société actuelle l’enferme dans ce mode de vie. Afin de les moderniser on a forcé les cultures nomades à se sédentariser, ce mode de vie n’est pas souhaité, il n’y a qu’à voir comment l’on traite les …

Manuel de transition, chapitre 5-6; la psychologie du changement

Chapitre 5 Comment le pic pétrolier et le chaos climatique nous affectent-ils ? Le syndrome de stress post-pétrolier Un cours chapitre pour évoquer des réactions courantes que peuvent avoir les gens lorsqu’ils prennent conscience du pic pétrolier. Voici la liste qu’il évoque : Foi irrationnelle en des solutions irréalistes, peurs, poussées du nihilisme ou de survivance, déni, fol optimisme et finalement doigt accusateur. La plupart des idées évoquées pourraient rappeler les différents scénarios du futur de l’après …

Manuel de transition chapitre 4: Pourquoi faire petit est inévitable

Dans ce dernier chapitre de ce qui compose la tête du manuel d’introduction, Rob Hopkins essaye de faire comprendre pourquoi dans la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique il est important de redimensionner l’échelle à laquelle nous fonctionnons. Relocaliser afin de redevenir une société plus locale afin d’être moins dépendant des énergies fossiles. Bien que la Chine soit pointée du doigt pour la pollution qu’elle émet, en 2008, la moité de ses émissions étaient destinées à …

Complete Street Program: le concept des rues partagées

La première fois que l’on en a entendu parlé, c’était à Ottawa, notre hôte nous avait dit qu’il venait de se terminer la première rue complète de la ville. Une rue qui était adaptée à tous les usagers ; piétons, vélos, bus, voitures. C’est lors de notre passage à Pasadena, dans la banlieue de Los Angeles que nous avons la chance d’en apprendre plus en assistant à une réunion de Pasadena Complete Street Coalition. L’étalement urbain …

Localwashing le nouvel outil marketing

Connaissez-vous l’expression « Greenwashing » ? C’est ainsi que l’on appelle le marketing qui essaye de vous vendre une voiture verte ou tout autre produit avec une valeur environnementale, mais qui n’en a en fait aucune. L’écologie a le vent en poupe et les publicitaires l’ont bien compris, alors des marques se verdissent pour être plus attrayante. C’est la mission du marketing, trouver ce qui fait vendre les produits que nous consommons. Or en changeant souvent de ville …

Transition et technologie : le low-tech (3/3)

Lorsque je travaillais pour une entreprise web, lors d’une discussion au moment du repas un collègue avait soutenu la thèse suivante: « Depuis qu’il y a internet nous sommes plus intelligents, car il n’y a plus besoin de tout savoir, si on veut savoir quelque chose il suffit de le chercher sur Google. ». Ce qu’il voulait dire, c’est qu’il n’est nécessaire de savoir, mais il suffit de savoir comment chercher. Ancien étudiant de philosophie, je n’ai …

Quelab, un makerspace à Albuquerque; Nouveau-Mexique

Si vous connaissez l’histoire de l’Escargot, notre maison ambulante, vous savez qu’elle a commencée dans l’atelier d’un makerspace à Québec, La Patente. Alors que nous commencions notre voyage, nous restions attachés à ce lieu et avons commencé à visiter des lieux similaires sur notre route. Le projet nous a amené récemment à Albuquerque, au Nouveau-Mexique, afin d’aller à la rencontre du groupe de transition local. Suite au sociofinancement réussi du projet, une des contreparties que …

Transition et technologie (2/3) : la solution par le libre et l’associatif ?

Le premier article essayait de montrer la partie cachée de notre utilisation d’internet, même si on ne le voit pas, l’impact environnemental peut être important. Bien que l’imaginaire sociétal nous dise le contraire, c’est dans notre façon d’utiliser et d’aborder internet que notre impact environnemental est plus grand qu’il ne pourrait être, car il peut y avoir des solutions afin que notre utilisation de la toile soit plus verte. Un autre point que j’aimerais mettre …

visite d’un Eartship; la maison autonome

Nous étions à Albuquerque pour visiter le groupe de transition local, on voulait également en profiter pour aller visiter la capitale du Nouveau-Mexique par la même occasion, Santa Fe. Le groupe nous dit alors: « Si vous continuez un peu plus au nord vous pourriez aller à Taos, découvrir les constructions écologiques.», « Bonne idée! » On a pris des informations et nous nous sommes rendus compte que les constructions en question étaient les fameux Eartships. (vaisseaux …